La Purisima Mission State Historic Park, Lompoc, California

mission la purisima ca roof detail

With vistas of rocky beaches, farms, sandy beaches, and ranches, the drive to La Purisima Mission State Historic Park from Los Angeles reminds me of everything I like about Southern California.  Entering the park itself is like stepping back in time.

mission la purisima ca mission bell     mission la purisima ca footbridge     mission la purisima ca goat

Sheep and goats fill the corrals, turkeys gobble, and horses graze.  We look around for an Indian shepherd, or a neophyte coming to gather the dried hides to be tanned, but apparently this is a non-living history day.  The pastoral quiet is soothing.

mission la purisima ca horses     mission la purisima ca turkeys     mission la purisima ca barracks

Because it is a State Historic Park, La Purisima receives grant funding and has enjoyed massive restoration.  Beginning in 1935, the California Conservation Corps performed painstaking research. CCC completely restored the buildings using the original construction methods, adobe bricks, clay tiles, handmade furniture. 

mission la purisima ca sheep     mission la purisima ca hides     mission la purisima ca entry

Many living history events are held here throughout the year. This gives visitors the opportunity to see first-hand what life was like when the mission was at its peak. Docents and reenactors demonstrate mission crafts and skills. From grinding corn and making tortillas, to spinning wool and soap and candle making, everything is produced by the mission. 

mission la purisima ca bell wall     mission la purisima ca barns     mission la purisima ca tallow vats

mission la purisima ca tallow     mission la purisima ca tallow shed

The tallow vats above were used to melt animal fat in preparation for making soap and candles.  An abalone shell to hold holy water at the entrance to the church is representative of California’s coastal bounty.  The church itself is sparse, much as it must have been when the 11th Mission was founded and the faithful stood and knelt or sat on the bare floor.

mission la purisima ca abalone holy water

Extreme would be the word to describe the history of La Purisima. The mission was founded on the Feast of the Immaculate Conception, December 8, 1797. In just one year, there were over 900 residents. Construction began on a new church but by 1804, the neophyte population had reached 1,520. 

mission la purisima ca candler     mission la purisima ca choir loft     mission la purisima ca baptismal font

Scandal is nothing new to the Catholic Church. Accusations of mistreatment of the indians brought an investigation of the Franciscan padres and the military by the Spanish Governor.  The accusations proved unfounded.

mission la purisima ca altar     mission la purisima ca wagon     mission la purisima ca altar wall detail

Extreme disaster followed extreme prosperity.  In 1804, death and disease began to claim the lives of the Indian converts.  The massive earthquake of 1812, followed by heavy rains, leveled the mission and its outbuildings.

mission la purisima ca altar main     mission la purisima ca altar left     mission la purisima ca stations

Due to the devastation of the original mission, the padres relocated the new mission to the north. The new construction marked a departure from the traditional quadrangle mission plan.  Laying the buildings out in a line worked better with the natural contours of the land. This allowed for a quick escape as well as preserving the farmland.  As a result, extreme prosperity returned.

mission la purisima ca beams     mission la purisima ca soldier room     mission la purisima ca corporals apt

Because of the direction of Father Mariano Payeras, the mission continued to enjoy peace and prosperity.  Unfortunately, after his death in 1823, the Chumash began to revolt against the military. Finally, the Mexican government took control of the property in 1834.

mission la purisima ca spinning wheel     mission la purisima ca mayor domo room     mission la purisima ca olive mill

The government sold La Purisima at auction and as a result, the mission fell into ruin.

mission la purisima ca olive press     mission la purisima ca loom     mission la purisima ca wool cards

Fortunes began to improve in 1903 when then owner Union Oil Company realized that the mission grounds were an important part of history. Remarkably, the company donated much of the land to the State of California and restoration began.

mission la purisima ca carpenter shop     mission la purisima ca leather shop     mission la purisima ca kitchen

Today, La Purisima Mission is building a new Visitor Center Complex. It will include a museum, exhibits and gift shop. The Mission offers many school programs and activities, as well as numerous living history events and an annual art show and sale.

     mission la purisima ca kiln     mission la purisima ca indian apts     mission la purisima ca lavanderia     mission la purisima ca drinking fountain

La Purisima Mission and State Historic Park

2295 Purisima Rd.

Lompoc, CA  93436

805-733-3713

www.lapurisimamission.org

References:

www.lapurisimamission.org

www.californiamissions.com/morehistory/lapurisima.html

www.californiamissions.com/cahistory/lapurisima.html

 

Facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestlinkedintumblr

Mission San Xavier del Bac – Tucson, Arizona

san xavier del bac

The White Dove of the Desert, as Mission San Xavier del Bac has been very appropriately dubbed, has a prominent position on the desert plain in the southwest corner of Tucson, Arizona. Easy to spot from Interstate 19, it stands, a lonely survivor of struggle. A struggle still carried on to this day, not only with the saving of souls and formation of faithful Catholics but also with the obtaining of finances for the painstaking restoration of historic and priceless art. The story of Mission San Javier del Bac goes back before the story of the wild west. It starts even before the American Revolution.

sanx facade

Since 1692 the Mission has served the spiritual needs of the Tohono O’odham people and their ancestors. The stark beauty of this landscape struck Italian Jesuit Father Eusebio Kino. Local natives convinced him of the need for a spiritual shepherd here. But the Mission would experience many fits and starts before there would be any continuity of leadership. Spain would banish the Jesuits, Franciscan friars would risk their lives against marauding bands of Apaches, and the fears of the tribe’s own medicine men would threaten the spread of the faith in what was then New Spain. The construction of the church building itself was a struggle. Builders laid the foundations in 1700 and 1702, but with a shortage of priests, and no resident priest at the mission until 1756, construction lay abandoned. Dismantling took place sometime after 1763. The Franciscans took over in 1768 and began building the present church.

sanx painting

Records remain sketchy as to who exactly the artists and builders were. Certainly, some of the locals received training from the craftsmen, and to this day some are involved in the ongoing restoration projects.

sanx windows n dome          sanx main altar

 The church is built in the shape of a cross, with the main altar at the top, and a high dome at the center.  Elaborate paintings grace the walls and ceilings. Pictures of angels, saints, God the Father, the Blessed Virgin Mary, faux tile, faux marble, and many other symbols decorate the church.

sanx olretransept          sanx mary e transept

In addition to hand carved statues of angels, real clothing adorns representations of the Blessed Virgin Mary and saints. This is traditional in many places.  While in the west transept is a reclining figure of Saint Francis Xavier, on which pilgrims pin “Milagros”, small metal images or symbols of the miracles they are praying for.

sanx reclin w transept          sanx statues

A mortuary chapel near the main church contains more statues and many votive lights. The Stations of the Cross, set into the walls, surround the old burial ground outside.

sanx mortuary chapel

Just east of the church is a little hill topped by a large white cross.  The pathway around the hill features a replica “Lourdes” grotto.  The south end of the complex houses a plaza with native crafts and foods.  The day we were there, a couple set up under the picnic area near the parking lot and sold yummy fry bread burritos and tacos.

Today Mission San Xavier del Bac is a thriving Catholic community. It is still administered by the Franciscans, with daily masses, weekly confession, mission school, religious education classes, and resident priests.

To plan your pilgrimage and for more information:

Mission San Xavier del Bac

1950 West San Xavier Road

Tucson, Arizona  85746

520-294-2624

(c) Copyright 2003 by Robyn Dolan

 

Facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestlinkedintumblr